Wish You Were Here

Wish you were here

road trips always put me here
in a place of reflection
thinking of our days
nothing or anyone compares
don't dare

don't give me materials
nothing tangible 
just you
no brand new car
no brand new you
the old you
with scratches and scars

perfectly imperfect
I love it
you assigned me, my role
too soon, you go
you went,
life spent
teaching and teaching

the strength behind my decisions
the courage behind my actions
the man behind my transition into manhood
love you pop, wish you were here
Leave a Reply

