I Wake

I wake in the midst of suffering

my soul aches

and my mind is cluttering

A piece of me is gone

you were my heart,

my strength,

my warrior

I often wonder why it had to happen

I still hear you laughin’

These dark thoughts haunt me,

and the “what ifs” drive me crazy

was this God’s choice to inflict this pain

maybe

I miss the days of opening the front door

picking out chicken

running to the store

playing your numbers for you

asking, “Nate anymore?”

your spirit stayed rich,

even on days when we were pour

The silent mornings

and noisy nights

seem to never go away

dad,

my rock

why couldn’t you stay

I wake

I Pray

You’ll never go away

Leave a Reply

